„On the Road”, Jack Kerouac

I have never like this book. Till now.

I started it, because I expected something grand from it. I was in a period when I needed something like a getaway, to gather all my thoughts together. I was reading it and waiting for something interesting to happen. I didn’t try to understand its message, because I was reading it just to relax, just for the pleasure of reading. Then, when I discovered its beauty, I promised myself to never read again a book without following its central idea.

screen480x480

Photo Source

When I discovered it, every single word got another meaning. The whole book meant something else. I realized that I had read a priceless masterpiece and I didn’t even know about this. Because it’s one of the most significant books of America during 1950-1960. It’s the book that „defines” the Beat Generation (The Beat Generation, you should read this post if you want to understand why the book is written in such a way) and that „wears” a grand value. This is the grandiosity I was looking for. It was there.

I can assure you that this is a book that you surely have to read in your life. Do not repeat my mistake. Do not let it go. Do not let it for tomorrow. Read it now, because it can change your life. And read it briefly, try to understand why the words are arranged in the way they are, because there is always a reason. Sometimes we tend to neglect the books that can become the most important ones for us. „On the Road” can be exactly one of these books.

As always, here are some quotes:

“What is that feeling when you’re driving away from people and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? – it’s the too-huge world vaulting us, and it’s good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies.”

“because he had no place he could stay in without getting tired of it and because there was nowhere to go but everywhere, keep rolling under the stars…”

“I liked him; not because he was a good sort, as he later proved to be, but because he was enthusiastic about things.”

“A feeling of sadness that only bus stations have.”

 

 

5 gânduri despre “„On the Road”, Jack Kerouac

Lasă un răspuns

