„Lolita” by Vladimir Nabokov

I think you’ve noticed from my recommendations that I use to read everything that’s peppery, flashy, unusual, forbidden, banned. This weekend I suggest you a book that once was banned by the government in many countries. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

I warn you, it seems boring. Sometimes nothing happens. But just SOMETIMES. Other times you just can’t follow the action. It’s a story, more or less, about love. You’ll make your own opinion and you’ll decide for yourself how much love is there in the book.

It’s a controversial book, that forces you to make faces and big eyes. While reading it, a lot of thoughts, opinions and ideas will cross your mind. Sometimes you can find yourself contradicting your own opinions. You’ll say it’s beautiful. Then you’ll say it’s disgusting. Sometimes you’ll say you can’t read it anymore, but then you’ll want to find out the ending. It can be a long reading, mine lasted a whole month. But still. Nothing compares to it. Why? Because, in my opinion, a good book is a book that says more than the others. A good book is a book that has the courage to underline things that people don’t talk about. Good books are those books that risk to be banned, because people don’t like writings that talk about shameful things. And Lolita is exactly one of these books.

Shortly, Humbert Humbert is the main character who falls in love with Lolita, the 12 years old girl. I won’t tell you more. (I will keep reminding you that I do not describe the action or the characters. I decribe the way I felt while reading it.)

13521204_1144884082249078_803048562_n

And here are some quotes:

“It was love at first sight, at last sight, at ever and ever sight.”

“Human life is but a series of footnotes to a vast obscure unfinished masterpiece”

“I loved you. I was a pentapod monster, but I loved you. I was despicable and brutal, and turpid, and everything, mais je t’aimais, je t’aimais! And there were times when I knew how you felt, and it was hell to know it, my little one. Lolita girl, brave Dolly Schiller.”

“We live not only in a world of thoughts, but also in a world of things. Words without experience are meaningless.”

I also found some quotes by Vladimir Nabokov upon the book, but they are in Romanian and I’m not a professional translator. Although, if you want to, you can check them here, they are the last two quotes and you can try to translate them in Google. “Lolita”, Vladimir Nabokov.

P.S. There are two movies made upon the book, the first one appeared in 1962 and the second one in 1992. I think you can find them online.

15 gânduri despre “„Lolita” by Vladimir Nabokov

      1. yeahh…i dont speak nor understand romanian hehehe too bad….yay!!! thanksss! im pretty bored and i need something to read to lull me off to sleep but im kinda picky wih reading materials heehee 😀

        Apreciază

  1. Nabokov is a great writer. The narrator of Lolita might be the most unreliable narrator in literature. How can the reader believe anything he says? But, that’s part of the book’s attraction–a window into the narrator’s mind, if not into „reality.”

    Apreciat de 1 persoană

Lasă un răspuns

