Catharsis and volunteering

e83d405fd30a303c3ab745e94cdcac8b

Catharsis: 

1. the process of releasing, and thereby providing relief from, strong or repressed emotions; the purifying of the soul.
I gave this definition to you because not everyone knows the word „catharsis”. It is used, especially, in dramatics. Aristotle used this concept to illustrate the effects of dramatics upon the spectator or upon the reader. As you have observed, this word immediately suggests us an image of art. Then which is the relation between catharsis and volunteering?
Okay, I think that you’ve already found out the point. To some extent, volunteering is also an art. In consequence, volunteering also can generate a „purifying of the soul”.
f0cec0e065b1bccda5f769e7eb39620b
I do not have a lot of experience in this field, but I also can’t say that I have no experience at all. Those three years of high school volunteering were the most beautiful years in my life. I’m not saying that it was easy and that I didn’t work. I worked a lot. Sometimes I was so tired that I wanted to give up on everything. But then I remembered that some pretty little kids were waiting for me, were waiting for some sweets for the International Children’s Day. And there were also poor families that were hoping for a personal Santa… Could I let them alone? No, I couldn’t. And I really think this is also a kind of purifying of the soul, because… what can be better for my soul than realizing that I can offer someone a smile, one less concern, a hope in addition? There is nothing more beautiful than this. I was making my life more pleasant and I was making someone happier. This is the work of a volunteer: he is that personal Santa or that personal Easter bunny.
10436096_596288143820712_4113492868627404176_n10487232_608716359244557_2607342097796409135_n10647056_671389076310618_5066776176621452409_n
Because of some personal reasons, I gave up on volunteering for a period. In consequence, I observe that i am more selfish, I do not take the chances that I have and I do not fight for all the opportunities that life offers me as I used to fight before. Volunteering helped me grow up, from an organizational point of view and from a spiritual point of view. And now I feel that both my body and soul need a purifying, they both need to release the tension through volunteering. And I’m in a constant search of voluntary work!
And I suggest you to take every chance you have and to try the voluntary work. World will become a better place for you to live in, I assure you!

Lasă un răspuns

